• musclemecca bodybuilding forums does not sell or endorse any bodybuilding gear, products or supplements.
    Musclemecca has no affiliation with advertisers; they simply purchase advertising space here. If you have questions go to their site and ask them directly.
    Advertisers are responsible for the content in their forums.
    DO NOT SELL ILLEGAL PRODUCTS ON OUR FORUM

The "TRUTH" on cardio and fat burning

Maxmonzter

Maxmonzter

Mecca V.I.P.
VIP
intresting article i found

Hi guys as some might know i am studying physio and exercise physiology and work as a personal trainer for a few years now. and for uni i wrote this paper for an optional essay, (yes i am a nerd) hehe. This is my opionion on cardio and would like to here wat u guys think. its all facts.

This will casue some heated discussion but hey we are here to learn.

Introduction
Working as a pt for the past years it has lead me certain conclusions about the standard cardio that many of my fellow personal trainers prescribe, I now tell clients that cardio does not burn fat and walking is not exercise. This horrifies many people from whom the most common retort is that ‘walking is better than nothing’. For those readers delighted by any achievement greater than ‘nothing’, keep walking! Half an hour, 3 times per week is all the exercise YOU will ever need.

But whilst ‘walking’ might very well be better than ‘nothing’ for the majority of the clinically obese civilian population, readers of this site HOPEFULLY reference their physical condition against higher benchmarks than ‘nothing’, ‘zero’ or ‘dead’.

How to manipulate fat
Manipulating body composition is based on 3 very simple principles:
• Food determines your weight
• Strength determines your lean mass
• Fat is the difference in between.

These principles are fact. They cannot be argued. And they provide clear direction for complete control of your body composition.
• If you want to alter your bodyweight, adjust your food intake.