• musclemecca bodybuilding forums does not sell or endorse any bodybuilding gear, products or supplements.
    Musclemecca has no affiliation with advertisers; they simply purchase advertising space here. If you have questions go to their site and ask them directly.
    Advertisers are responsible for the content in their forums.
    DO NOT SELL ILLEGAL PRODUCTS ON OUR FORUM

Getting back into training....

MetalMX

MetalMX

Getting back into training... ive been lifting since janurary 2007 till about 3 months ago when i had a layoff due to illness.

Just need some advice on a training program for hypertrophy.

I did a 3 day a week program before... shoulders/tri's, chest/bi's, legs/back with about 8-12 sets per bodypart with 8-12 reps per set.

Its time for a change, that previous program burnt me out pretty fast due to the high volume on each training day.

I want to particularly increase delt size and forearms.

I will still be doing a 3 day split or 3 day fullbody workout then slowing moving into a 4 day split.

The only thing i get confused with is the best amount of sets per bodypart if its only being trained once per week.

Im 6"2 at 217lbs at present.

recommendations for sample programs for me would be great.

:xyxthumbs:

Bulkboy

Bulkboy

Mecca V.I.P.
VIP
give max ot a try, im doing it atm, and i like it:2:

philosopher

philosopher

Mecca V.I.P.
VIP
Imo start of with a FB routine 3x a week for 8 weeks after that change it to a 4x a week ub/lb routine.

FB routine - Rippetoe's or 5x5

tim290280

tim290280

Mecca V.I.P.
VIP
If you plan on moving to 4 days a week then use the 3 day a week as fullbody to get some basic foundations back again. Structure it so that you have 2-3 key lifts and some accessories to cover the rest of the body. Have one day with the first exercise upper body pressing (shoulder press if thats what you want), one day a squat or deadlift first, one day a rowing or chinup first.